Pretty Paper Napkin Flower

Blue n white paper napkin flower

Now, we are celebrating Eid al-Fitr or called Hari Raya here. Eid al-Fitr is an important religious holiday for us Muslims that marks the end of our holy month of fasting which is also known as Ramadan. I’ve been busy the last month observing Ramadan and preparing for Hari Raya. There was spring cleaning and baking cookies and cakes for the guests that will come visit. Eid al-Fitr is celebrated for a month. Relatives near and far will visit our homes and we in turn visits them.

I had some time before some guests visits and I had some paper napkins for the guests to use. Sometimes, you need paper napkins to better dry the hands rather than the soft tissues since we Malays use our hands to eat. We use to put it in the paper napkin holders or just fold it into triangles and slot it into the vase and make it look like a coconut tree but this year, we ran out of vases since mom had filled all our vases with flowers. She had also forgotten where she kept the paper napkin holder. So, I had to come up with another way to arrange my paper napkins for the guests to use. I remembered seeing this done at my best friend’s house during her daughter’s birthday party, so I decided to use this method. The paper napkins are folded and arranged into a flower. Most people who came and saw them were impressed. Some even don’t want to use them as it was too pretty.

Here is how I made it.

 1. Start with a square paper napkin. I love IKEA ones since there are so many colours and patterns. Of course, feel free to use any paper napkins that you want. Position it as in the picture.

2. Fold it into half upwards to form a triangle.

3. Then fold it down and inwards as shown.

4. Do the same for the other side. 

 5. Turn it over.

6. Fold the two edges up.

7. Fold it into half again with the folded edges in the centre.

8. Flip it and puff up the pockets as shown.


9. Find a base to use. It can be a plate or basket. Arrange them in a circular manner. For the next row, slot the sharp edges into alternate pocket slots to keep it together. Do the same for the next row and so on. Do as many rows as you like. Play with different colours and napkin patterns.

10. And there you have it! A beautiful paper napkin flower to impress your guests!

This blue and white one is actually the second one I made. I did a purple and pink one as shown below. It’s used up now, by the way. For this one, after I arranged it, I folded a layer of the edges to give it a blooming flower kind of feel since the purple napkins were too plain to me.

Purple n pink paper napkin flower

Try it out the next time you are going to have guests coming over. I hope you have fun folding and making them. I’m sure it will be one of the talks of the party.

As a last note, for those celebrating Hari Raya, Selamat Hari Raya to you!

Leave a Reply

