Crazy shopping at Dongdaemun

One place you should NEVER miss if you like shopping is Dongdaemun Market. This is a big area filled with shopping centers big and small. They sell anything and everything, for retail and wholesale. But the best part is, most of them opens at around 10.30am and closes around 4.30am or 5.00am the NEXT DAY! Yes, I didn’t type it wrongly. If you can’t sleep at night, you can always come here to shop. You can shop until you drop or your money runs out, whichever comes first. hahahahah…

2351

I admit I went crazy here. I purposely choose it as the last place to go so that I know how much money I had left and I can spend all my Korean currency left in my wallet.

Dongdaemun market had been designated as a ‘Special Tourism Zone’ and it is a popular shopping district. The market are divided into five shopping districts, A,B,C, D and a shopping town. There are more than 25 shopping malls over 10 blocks with more than 20,000 specialty shops and manufacturers.

2350

Go to the tourist centre first to get a map like I did. Then, you can plan your attack. I only had 3 hours here and I only managed to cover 3 malls. I didn’t take much photos since I was busy shopping. I bought sweaters, blouses, dresses and shoes here. The prices are reasonable and some shop owners  allows me to negotiate.

2361

I also took a break under a bridge at the Cheonggyecheon Stream before walking over to the toy street to get some toys for my nephews. Cheonggyecheon Stream is a long public recreation space in the downtown area of Seoul. It used to be a neglected waterway hidden by an overpass. After it was restored, it had become a small respite of natural beauty in the city. It passes by some places of interest like the Changdeogung Palace, Insadong Street and Seoul Plaza and you can take a long stroll to these places by the Cheonggyecheon Stream if you prefer walking rather than riding the subway.

2367

I would definitely come back here again for more shopping.

Details:

Dongdaemun Market (동대문시장 )

Nearest Subway Station: Dongdaemun History & Culture Park Station or Dongdaemun Station

How to get there:

  • If you were to reach here by Dongdaemun History & Culture Park Station, take Exit 14. This station is served by Line 2, 4 & 5.
  • If you were to reach here by Dongdaemun Station, take Exit 8 or 9. This station is served by Line 1 & 4.

Operating Hours:

  • It depends on the different shopping centers.
  • Most opens around 10.30am or 11am and closes around 4.30am or 5am the next day.
  • Most are closed on Mondays and holidays.

 

It had been another great holiday and break. From beautiful landscapes to historical sites and palaces and the modern structures and shopping, I think there is something for everyone here in Korea.

Leave a Reply

