Breathtaking sunrise at Seongsan Illchulbong Peak

Day 4:

They say you should not miss watching the sunrise at the Seongsan Illchulbong Peak or sunrise peak. So, here we go! This is a UNESCO World Heritage Site.

I love watching sunrise and sunsets. There is just something amazing and romantic about it. Sunrise makes me look forward to the day. Sunset makes me feel blessed that I made it through the day and the night is here for me to unwind.

We woke up at 3am. Yes, we started the day at 3am. Being kiasu Singaporeans, we decided to wake up really early to drive over to Seongsan Illchulbong Peak. You will still need to climb all the way up to the observatory area to watch the sunrise. Some people will take about 30 minutes to climb up but I took about double the time since I’m not that fit (I guess its time to make some lifestyle changes).

There were almost no cars on the road except us. It was dark as I drove out of town. Only the area near the street lights are illuminated. There are a lot of speed limits and cameras, so it took about slightly more than an hour to drive over. When I reached the carpark, I was the first to park there. See what I tell you. Kiasu!

0790

It is quite dark here and you won’t be able to really see the path at the hour when we were there. We were a bit confused and I wasn’t sure if we were at the right place to start the climb or are we even allowed to climb up at this time??? Then, we saw a couple of people walk pass us to climb up. So, like they say, monkey see, monkey do. We started climbing up after them.

0790d

We used our handphone light to light our way and we weren’t the only one. As we climbed up, some people pass by us using their handphone lights too. There are steps and slopes, so a torchlight would have been really useful. It took a lot of stops for me to climb up. I really need to start getting fit again. I guess its an early morning exercise to really wake me up.

0800a

A lot of people had passed by me and made it up by the time I reached there. There is a wooden observatory area where you can sit and wait for the sunrise. I’m just glad I made it up.

I sat around and waited and waited and suddenly I heard a loud “ohhhh” and everyone looked up and there it is. Beautiful sunrise! It just takes my breath away.

 

0819

0822

We spent some time just sitting there looking at it. I was mesmerized!

0825

I’m glad I made it to catch the sunrise. Its like a ball of fire hanging in the sky. The sun, my namesake. Good morning to you too!

0826h

0826i

0834a

Then its time to climb down. As I climbed down, only now do I get to see the surroundings. I was glad too that it was not as foggy as the day before.

0834c

0834d

0842

0844

Looks like a dog right?

 

0850

The landscape here is really beautiful. Its one of my favorite places here.

0851

0852

0855

0856

0858

That is where the women diver’s performance will be held.

 

0864a

These arrows points out the locations of some of the things you can see and do here.

0872

0873

There are some restaurants, cafes and shops at the bottom of the sunrise peak. After a coffee break and some light breakfast, off we went to Udo Island.

Have you seen the sunrise or sunset? Try to catch one and see it for yourself. Its one of the simple pleasures in life.

Details:

Seongsan Ilchulbong Peak (성산일출봉)

Address: 284-12, Ilchul-ro, Seongsan-eup, Seogwipo-si, Jeju-do
제주특별자치도 서귀포시 성산읍 일출로 284-12

No. to input in GPS: 783 0959 or 710 7923

Operating Hours: 1 hour before sunrise until sunset

Admission Fees:

  • 2,000 Won for Adults
  • 1,000 Won for Teenagers & Children

Parking Fee: Free

Up next, Udo Island. You would love it too like I did. Come back and read about it in the next blog entry.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

